Chemo Mom

A client introduced me to a breast cancer fighter to do a patient story for a newsletter. I met with Christine the first time as she sat alone in chemo. When I was finished with the interview, I couldn’t find it in my heart to leave. After all, I had never sat through a chemo session alone. I always had my husband or a family member beside me. But Christine is a single mom, raising her young son, and doesn’t have any family living in the area. I sat with Christine that day – and that day, we became friends.

Christine’s story ran on our local WFAA TV station back in May for a special Mother’s Day feature but it’s worth checking out. Watch it here.

chemomom

I was touched by Christine’s strength from the day that I met her. I knew I had to do something to help her. So I rallied Team Roxy supporters to make a special survivor basket and donate gift cards to Christine. We would become good friends from that day on. And this is why I do what I do and continue to fight the battle against breast cancer for all women.

Your Thoughts?

