Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Dear Family, Friends & Team Roxy Supporters:

Today marks the first day of October and National Breast Cancer Awareness Month. As a survivor, this time of year has a very special meaning for me. Two years ago, as I sat in my living room watching a Cowboys game, where players wore pink, I wondered why breast cancer was such a big deal and how it had made its way into the NFL. Later that same month, a friend/sorority sister in Florida posted on Facebook that she was raising money for a breast cancer event. Although I had never been personally touched by breast cancer, I made a donation to her race team. That same week, as I was getting ready for bed, I felt something unusual on my left breast rub against my arm.

Despite my young age of 30 and having no family history of breast cancer, I remembered the donation and all the pink I had seen throughout the month. I performed a self-breast exam and discovered the lump that would change my life. You all know the rest of the story. On November 1, 2010, I was diagnosed with an aggressive triple negative breast cancer, just days after learning I was pregnant.

My journey with breast cancer has been an incredible one, covering a wide range of emotions and experiences. I have many people and organizations to thank for helping me get through my battle. However, the battle that began as a fight for my life has fueled a passion in me to fight this battle for every woman (and man). Therefore, my battle against breast cancer will continue until there’s a cure. Now cancer-free, I use my organization, Team Roxy, to help raise awareness, educate my community and support other women battling breast cancer. Because to me, breast cancer isn’t just about one month. Breast cancer affects lives, like mine, every day.

So what I ask of you – my friends, my supporters, my Team Roxy – is to continue to help me educate others, raise funds for breast cancer research and programs and, most of all, spread my message of hope. I encourage you to do this in whatever way best suits you, whether it’s joining me in an upcoming walk/run event, making a donation to a breast cancer organization in my honor, buying a Team Roxy t-shirt or book, telling someone my story, doing your own self-exam or getting screened.

Whatever it is, I’d like to know about it! Please share it on the Team Roxy Facebook page or send me an email at roxy@team-roxy.com. Each time you do, I will be reminded that my breast cancer has not been wasted – and my journey has served its purpose.

Your Thoughts?

