Be the Change

be-the-changeYesterday’s events in Boston were incredibly upsetting.

As someone with a love for running, it was difficult to watch the coverage as details of the fatalities and injuries unfolded. After being glued to television and social media updates for the first hour after the bombings, I had to unplug myself. I knew if I watched any longer that it would set me into a depressive state of mind.

Instead, I chose to disconnect from the world for a few hours and spend precious moments with my children. I sat in their bedroom and watched my daughter laugh as she danced in circles. Too young to understand the world, yet so impressionable at this age.

As my eyes wandered around the room, I fixated for a moment on a decorative wooden plaque on a shelf in their room.

Be the change you wish to see in the world. – Gandhi

I grabbed the plaque and read it aloud to my children. They each wanted to hold it. My thoughts quickly changed to hope. Despite the day’s tragic events, I was reminded – through my children – that there is still so much good in the world. This event alone will not cause me to live in fear, nor question humanity or my faith. I have seen too much good in the world to do so.

As a parent, it is my job to teach my children to be the change. I will do that by teaching them to love.

2 thoughts on “Be the Change

Your Thoughts?

