Happy Birthday, Serenity!

Happy Birthday, Serenity!

Happy Birthday, Serenity!

Last Saturday, we celebrated my daughter’s 2nd birthday. I’ve started a tradition of creating a video compilation for each of her birthdays. As I looked back through photos of the past year, I reflected once again on our incredible journey.

At this young age, she has no idea what her birthday means, other than its association with “happy” and “cake.” Like many other first-time moms, the birth date of my first child has a special significance. It is indeed a day that changed me forever.

But, for me, Serenity’s birthday is so much more than just a celebration of her life. It’s a celebration of our journey – a celebration of our victory.

April 20, 2011: It’s the day that we won our battle. It’s the day I discovered true Serenity.

One day, of course, she will know the significance. And I hope it means as much to her as it means to me. Happy Birthday, my dear Serenity!

Your Thoughts?

