Hope for Two: Pregnant with Cancer

As a Volunteer Support Woman for Hope for Two, I received an email from the organization in June 2013 requesting support for Vici, a pregnant woman in England who had just been diagnosed with breast cancer.

As I had done several times before, I immediately reached out to a woman that I may never know in person with a quick email introduction and a current photo of myself and Serenity. As a Support Woman, my role is to lend an ear, share my personal story and offer hope and support.

When I ‘met’ Vici, she had just undergone surgery and was scared about the next stage of her journey. After just a couple of emails, we connected as Facebook friends. This gave me the opportunity to check in on Vici and stay updated with her progress. I provided encouraging words and emotional support to Vici and virtually cheered her on as she completed chemo.

hope_for_two_vici_meghan

Hope for Two: Vici and baby Meghan

Meet Vici and Meghan

Vici learned of her breast cancer diagnosis only a couple of weeks after finding out she was pregnant with her second child. Already a mother to 4-year-old Rhys, Vici was surprised about the pregnancy, as she and her husband had been told that it was unlikely to happen. Imagine the emotions of receiving this delightful news only to learn that you have cancer. Vici underwent a lumpectomy and chemotherapy while pregnant. It was a bumpy road for this mommy-to-be. However, Vici delivered healthy, beautiful baby Meghan on November 28, 2013. This month, Vici learned that she is now cancer-free.

Hope for Two: The Pregnant with Cancer Network

Being able to share this journey with another pregnant with cancer warrior makes my volunteer role worthwhile. Vici’s words as she neared the end of her treatment also stick with me:
“Thoughts of you, Roxanne, keeping me strong! I know I can do it. You’re my inspiration.”
It’s ironic to hear these words from the Hope for Two women that I support. Little do they know that they are my inspiration.
Hope for Two…The Pregnant with Cancer Network is an international non-profit organization for women diagnosed with cancer during pregnancy. Its mission is to connect women who are pregnant with cancer with other women who have been pregnant with the same type of cancer. To learn more, visit www.hopefortwo.org.
2 thoughts on “Hope for Two: Pregnant with Cancer

  1. Hi, lovely for me to read this. I was diagnosed with ovarian cancer at 8 weeks. I had ovaries removed at 9 weeks pregnant and extensive chemo. My beautiful boy is now nearly 5 despite being born at 30 weeks. This is heartwarming xx

    • Thanks for your comment, Nia. I’m always glad to hear from a fellow pregnant with cancer warrior. My daugther, Serenity, is a healthy, happy 2-year-old despite being born at 32 weeks. There is hope for two!

Your Thoughts?

